GG2P: Online Travel Writing Class

Have you ever wanted to get paid to travel? The life of a travel writer is hard work but it’s also a lot of fun. Now is the perfect time to hone some new skills. Let your imagination do the traveling for you with the Girls’ Guide Travel Writing Workshop.
womanwritingwipadwritingclass-1
Join international travel writers, Meher Mirza in Mumbai, India and Sylvia Sabes in Paris, France and learn how to tell the story of your latest trip, the travels you hope to take, or an adventure in your own backyard. This writing class acts as an escape from the daily grind and helps you learn how to share your trip with friends and family or the world beyond…
Wow Issue Three 2015 Pages

Don’t just fantasize about it, see your byline in print. Learn from two established travel writers that have written for almost every major print & online travel publication. Get ready for travel once it opens again armed with a new skill which should one day allow you to travel for free (or close to it) and even make some money from your adventures! Scroll down for details & how to sign up.

womantrekking-1

“With sincere gratitude for an incredibly inspiring and motivating set of classes!”

    -Lisa

Me-in-Australia-1

Writing Instructors

Meher Mirza loves traveling to Central Asia, for the shimmer of its Silk Road tales. She is an independent food, travel, and culture writer based in Mumbai, India. She has over 15 years of experience working on both sides of the desk. Mirza was formerly the Copy and Features Editor at BBC Good Food India, and Assistant Editor for various Indian inflight and custom travel magazines. She has also written for The Guardian, CNN Travel, BBC Travel, BBC Culture, Saveur, LitHub, Catapult, Food52, Conde Nast Traveler India, Serious Eats, Lonely Planet, Life & Thyme and UK’s Evening Standard among others. You can read some of her articles herehere, and here and you’ll develop some serious cravings on her website here.

SS24-681x1024-1

Sylvia Sabes never leaves her Paris home without an extra camera battery or her Swiss Army knife (picnics, please!). When not on the road, she is the Paris Resident Curator and author for LUXE City Guides. After decades of writing ad campaigns for brands like L’Oreal and Cartier, she became a full-time travel writer in 2010, and now writes for publications including BBC Travel, Fodors, Afar Magazine, and a variety of in-flight magazines. Sylvia has won national awards in the US for her Polaroid photography and has seen her photos published by National Geographic as well as the International Herald Tribune. You can see her work herehere and here. Don’t be shy, send her a bonjour on Instagram or FaceBook.

writingscribblenotespix-1

Interested in becoming a travel writer? Here’s how it works.

Sign up by paying here: Pay Now, we only have space for 12 students per class with  2 instructors. This is small, intensive LIVE instruction…as opposed to a taped webinar. Doing classes live allows you to ask questions and interact with fellow writers and instructors making it more of a traditional classroom atmosphere where you’ll enjoy much needed feedback.

Send us an email if you would like more info.

Price is $425 (plus cc fees) for weekday or weekend sessions which include 15 hours of classes.

Pick your session. Weekday or Weekend

All Classes will take place online via Zoom. Once you’ve paid you’ll receive your access link and a questionnaire. An interactive workbook will be yours to keep which you’ll receive a few days before your first class.

Sign-up if you are serious about learning as this class program is non-refundable due to the limited availability.  One make-up class will be available due to illness or other emergency which you can take in our next session. We normally tape our sessions on zoom which can allow you to go back and access a class you missed.

Curriculum will include everything from what the various forms travel writing takes all the way up how to pitch magazine and other publications your story. Home assignments that go along with each class may include essays up to 200 words with some light research required at times. Assignments outside of class will take anywhere from 30 minutes to 1.5 hours max.

This is a beginner’s travel writing class, exploring the nuts and bolts of professional travel writing. At the end of these 15-hour interactive classes, students will walk away with the ins and outs of the craft of writing, interviewing, travel photography, food writing, ideating for stories (especially in the time of Covid), pitching to publications, and the business end of freelancing.  By the time the course draws to a close, students will have a story pitch, all polished up and ready to send off to a travel editor of their choice.
ilya-pavlov-wbXdGS D17U-unsplash-1024x684-1

1. Weekday classes

Session 2:

Tuesday January 5th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Thursday January 7th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Tuesday January 12th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Thursday January 14th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Tuesday January 19th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Session 3:

Tuesday February 2nd, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Thursday February 4th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Tuesday February 9th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Thursday February 11th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

Tuesday February 16th, 2021: 8:30am – 11:30am Pacific Time

NOTE: Please make sure you adjust for your time zone: 11:30-2:30pm East Coast, 4:30-7:30pm in the UK, 5:30-8:30pm CET & 9:00pm-12am in Mumbai)

*Regular sessions during our weekly classes will last 3 hours with the last hour reserved for sharing your work. There will be a break to allow for a snack and other necessities.

 

2. Weekend classes

Session 2:

Saturday January 09th, 8:30am – 11:30pm Pacific Time

Saturday January 16th, 8:30am – 11:30pm Pacific Time

Saturday January 23rd, 8:30am – 11:30pm Pacific Time

Saturday January 30th, 8:30am – 11:30pm Pacific Time

Saturday February 6th, 8:30am – 11:30pm Pacific Time

*Sessions during our weekend class will last 3 hours with the last hour reserved for sharing your work.

**All times marked are Pacific time in the US. So if the class starts at 8:30am Pacific that’s 9:30am Mountain, 10:30am Central, 11:30am on the East Coast, 4:30pm in London, 5:30pm CET & 9:00pm-12am in India

NOTE: One – on – one follow up instruction can be arranged at $80 an hour.
florian-klauer-mk7D-4UCfmg-unsplash-1